When I pulled down my walls

You slither on the wall,

all your venom shining off of you

in all your green scaly glory

you slither like you own the wall

and it is yours.

I built it, you know

that wall on which you walk

on which your belly rubs.

I watch you all this while.

You, you don’t   see me

so you keep coming

you don’t see me

waiting down there for you.

My hand flies to my chest

and I grip my heart

then

you cock your head and stare at me

thinking it is fear you see in my eyes,

I look back at you

not reading you clearly

you see, we are not of the same species.

I pull at my heart

willing it to leave its safe place

you think you have won

you think I groan

in agony, in grief

and you stick out your tonged

tongue to taste victory

hoh!

But  I pull harder,

ripping out myself what you would have

You think it is my heart I pull out?

It is the wall I pull down!

I pull it down right from under you,

while your tongue sticks out

while your head is cocked

while your scales gleam

I break down my walls

and you come crashing down with it

you come crashing down under it

you snake.

 

 

OurNanaYaa (C) 2016

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “When I pulled down my walls

Leave a Comment

